Kisan Mukti Yatra begins at Champaran on Oct 2, to arrive Allahabad on Oct 6.

Press Statement – 03.10.2017

Leaders of All India Kisan Sangharsh Coordination Committee, AIKSCC, conducting a Kisan Mukti Yatra all over the country shall be arriving at Allahabad October 6, 2017. The AIKSCC was formed in the aftermath of killing of 6 peasants in Mandsaur, MP by the BJP govt. Present Yatra started on October 2 from Champaran and held successful meetings in Bettiah and Motihari after garlanding of Mahatama Gandhi’s Statue at Bihitarwa yesterday and reached Siwan.

Kisan Mukti Yatra is mobilizing the peasants against indifferent, anti people and repressive attitude of the NDA/ BJP govts on severe losses being suffered by the peasantry. During elections, Prime Minister Modi promised to waive  farmer debts, prevent farmers from dying any more, pay 1.5 times the cost of production of all crops as Minimum Support Price as per the Swaminathan Commission recommendations of 2006 and double farmers income. Since 1995 more than 3 lac farmers have committed suicide and they continue under Modi rule. Farmers debt has risen by only 55% in these 3 years from Rs. 8.1 lac cr to Rs 12.6 lac crores. UP govt. has left out most of the indebted farmers, restricting waiver dues upto 2016. While farmers still owe lacs of rupees, it is waiving miniscule amounts of Rs 1 and 10.

Central govt has said it has no money for farmer loan waivers and in the Supreme Court it has said Swaminathan Commission cannot be implemented. However to help big corporate it has recently transferred Rs 6.7 lac crore of their debts into NPAs. Like the past years it has foregone corporate taxes worth Rs 6.11 lac crores in 2015-16.

The MNCs and their Indian associates are at the core of benefiting from anti peasant policies as they sell costly seeds, fertilizers, insecticides, machinery and diesel. They also purchase crops at low price and sell costly food products like bottled drinks, juices, ketchups, chips, etc. Present pro MNC policy is anti farmer and unpatriotic.

At Allahabad the AIKSCC leaders shall address a massive farmers meet at Ghoorpur at 1 pm and a meeting of intellectuals focussed on agricultural policy, WTO regulations and survival of Indian agriculture at Sadhna Sadan at 5 pm.

The speakers expected include Sri VM Singh (Convenor AIKSCC), Raju Shetty (Member of Parliament, Swabhiman Shetkari Sangathan), Dr. Sunilam (ex MLA Betul), Dr. Darshanpal (BKU Bhakaunda),  Bechan Ali (AIKKMS), Raja Ram Singh (AIK Mahasabha), Avik Saha (Jai Kisan Andolan), Akhilendra Pratap Singh (Swaraj Abhiyan), Dr. Ashish Mital (AIKMS) and others.

Issued on behalf of the Reception Committee: – Comrade Zia ul Haq, Justice Janardan Sahai, Sri Ravi Kiran Jain, Sri TP Singh, Umesh Narian Sharma, Prof OP Malviya, Prof AA Fatmi, Prof Ranjana Kakkar, Prof Nisha Srivastava, Zafar Bakht, Farman Naqvi, Com Harish Chandra Dwivedi, Pranay Krishna, Vijay Arora, Com Ravi Misra, Khursheed Naqvi, Prof Lalit Joshi, OD Singh, Raju Jaiswal, Prof. Sri Ballabh, KK Roy, Naresh Sahgal, Pancham Lal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s